Safe Driving Tips for Out-of-State Students
If attending a college or university in Arizona from out-of-state it is important to be aware of the local safety and traffic-related laws.
Licensing and Insurance
Those who are in Arizona exclusively for the purposes of attending school are considered an “out-of-state student”, meaning they are enrolled in seven or more semester hours of coursework. Those classified as such, are not considered Arizona residents, even if employed within the state. The state does however require the following individuals to obtain an Arizona driver’s license:
- Those working in Arizona (other than agriculturally-based seasonal workers or students).
- Parents who have children enrolled at an AZ school and are not paying out-of-state level tuition.
- Those with an established office for a business that operates vehicles in the state or has a business which transports either passengers or products within the state.
- Individuals who have a state license or that are paying in-state student school tuition.
- If you remain in Arizona for a total of (7) months of the year or more.
- Those who become a registered voter in AZ.
Arizona requires that all those operating a motor vehicle maintain financial liability insurance coverage. The requirement for coverage applies for the operation of golf-carts, mopeds and motorcycles as well. The minimum levels of coverage are:
- $15,000 in bodily injury coverage for one person and $30,000 for two or more people
- $10,000 in liability coverage for property damage
Distracted Driving and Driver Cell-Phone Usage
Arizona is one of the states that does not currently have a statewide restriction on the usage of mobile devices while operating a motor vehicle; however, the state has promoted several campaigns related to the dangers of “distracted driving” and several local and county governments have issued the following restrictions:
- Using a mobile device for text messaging is banned for drivers in Pima County, Phoenix, Flagstaff and Tucson. (phone calls are permitted)
- In Yuma, drivers are now prohibited from using any portable electronic devices including phones, tablets or games for calling, texting or any other reasons.
- In Coconino County all drivers are prohibited from using electronic communication devices for the exception of phone calls to contact emergency responders and telephone calls that are conducted using a “hands-free” mobile device.
Are you an out-of-state student in Arizona that was recently injured as a result of someone else’s carelessness or negligence? The Husband and Wife Legal Team” at Breyer Law Offices, P.C, are experts in representing victims of injury resulting from Phoenix traffic accidents. You deserve compensation during this stressful time to cover medical expenses, and the inability to work or attend school. Contact our office at (602) 457-6222 for a complimentary review and consultation regarding your case today!
Get Help Now
During a free consultation, we will look at the important aspects of your case, answer your questions, and explain your legal rights and options clearly. All submissions are confidentially reviewed by Mark Breyer.
Confidentially reviewed by Attorney Mark Breyer