New Year’s Safety Resolutions – “Insure” You’re Fully Covered
Arizona is known for having some of the lowest liability requirements for car insurance in the country. In fact, the state falls 25 percent below the national average in the liability insurance department. This is great news if you’re a driver on the road, as it doesn’t cost very much to become legal, but the news gets even better. Instead of pocketing that extra cash and using it for coffee money throughout the New Year, you can make the resolution to put that money towards full coverage – something that won’t cost much more than what you’re paying now.
Minimum liability coverage in Arizona
Minimum liability coverage in Arizona is often referred to as the “15/30/10” plan. This will provide the following insurance coverage:
- $15,000 for the injury or death of another person in the event of an accident
- $30,000 for the injury or death of more than one person
- $10,000 for damage to another person’s property
These plans will cost anywhere from $500 to $1500 to provide the bare minimum of insurance to other people and their property. It does not provide any additional coverage for injury to yourself, or damage to your property, such as your car.
Enhanced coverage will cost slightly more than minimum coverage will, but you’ll be covered for much more in the event of an accident. These plans are often referred to as “50/100/50” plans and they break down to cover:
- $50,000 for the injury or death of another person
- $100,000 for the injury or death of more than one person
- $50,000 for damage to another person’s property
Enhanced coverage plans can cost anywhere from $50 – $100 more over the course of a year than minimum coverage plans. But the reassurance they’ll provide while you’re on the road will be well worth it.
Some take enhanced coverage a step further and pay for premium insurance. Most insurance companies carry these “100/300/100” plans that provide the best coverage and make sure you’re fully covered for anything that should happen in an accident. These plans can cost anywhere from $700 – $2500 a year so in some cases, it might just be a matter of adding fifty dollars to your monthly insurance charge.
There’s just no way around it. If you want to drive in Arizona, you must carry auto insurance. If you’re caught without it, you could have your license revoked, as well as your vehicle registration, which means your car can’t even be on the road. Make the New Year’s resolution this year to “insure” that you’re fully insured and the peace of mind it brings will guarantee a truly happy New Year.
If you’ve been in an accident and are having trouble dealing with an Arizona insurance company, or you’re not sure what they’ll cover, contact us at Breyer Law Offices, P.C. We are The Husband and Wife Law Team with the experience needed to deal with insurance companies, and hold them responsible for paying out the proper coverage. Call us today at (602) 267-1280 for a free consultation.