An Overview of Arizona Bicycle Helmet Laws
There are no federal laws concerning the wearing of helmets for bicycle riders. Arizona also has no statewide laws about cyclists wearing helmets, either. But, some individual cities and municipalities do have mandatory helmet laws. Since we have offices throughout the state, we’ll list the locations where bicycle helmet laws exist.
• Tucson and all of Pima County require bicyclists aged 18 and under to wear a helmet.
• Flagstaff requires all bicyclists aged 18 and under to wear helmets. Violators of this law will receive a fine of $25 to $75, but the fine will be removed if the person obtains a helmet.
• Phoenix requires that all bicyclists aged 18 and under to wear helmets.
• Sierra Vista requires all bicyclists aged 18 and under to wear helmets.
• Yuma requires all bicyclists aged 18 and under to wear helmets.
We at Breyer Law Offices, P.C. urge all Arizona bicycle riders to wear helmets, regardless of age. Never forget that head trauma is a serious injury, no matter old you are. You may be an experienced rider, but that doesn’t mean other riders and vehicle drivers are competent, alert, and sober. That being said, if you are not wearing your helmet and a driver hits you, you are still owed the protection of the laws.
Contact Breyer Law Offices, P.C.
If you or a family member has been injured in a bicycle accident, you need to call an experienced personal injury attorney. The Husband and Wife Law Team of Mark and Alexis Breyer have been successfully representing injury victims throughout Arizona for over two decades. We will put our knowledge and experience to work on your case to help you secure the compensation you need to heal and move on. Call Breyer Law Offices, P.C. today for a free consultation at (602) 267-1280.