Arizona Passes New Cellphone Ban for 2021
Distracted driving has long been an issue that puts everyone on the road in danger. However, since the popularity of mobile devices has skyrocketed over the past decade, distracted driving accidents have also skyrocketed. In response, many states have banned the use of a cellphone while driving. Arizona has, sadly, not been among them… until this coming January. Starting in 2021, the state of Arizona will ban certain cellphone use for drivers.
The Danger of Distracted Driving
Distracted drivers are incredibly dangerous. There are many factors that go into driving safely and responsibly – but the key one is focus. The road is full of signs, lights, and sounds that a driver must be paying attention to at all times. A driver who allows himself to become distracted, especially by the latest iPhone, which requires the use of his hands, eyes, and mind, could easily miss a red light, slowing traffic, or even a pedestrian crossing in front of him.
This kind of negligence can cause catastrophic injuries. Distracted drivers rarely see their victims before hitting them, meaning that they are unable to slam on their brakes and stop their car, or even slow down. The faster a car is going before impact, the greater the force that impact will have. A distracted driver could easily cause brain damage, spinal cord injuries, or even traumatic amputation to an unsuspecting victim.
Of course, that is if the victim survives the collision. Distracted drivers are very often the cause of wrongful deaths, destroying families in the process. Thankfully, the government of Arizona has finally decided to act.
The New Rules
If you are a driver in Arizona, then you need to be aware of the new rules, and how they could impact you. While it is never a good idea to use your cellphone while on the road, the new law prohibits specific actions, rather than cellphone use in general. Under the law you cannot:
- Hold a cellphone at all (including between your cheek and shoulder)
- Read, write, or send texts, emails, or any other text-based communication
- Watch any kind of video
- Record any kind of video
However, there are still certain cellphone uses that are allowed under the new law. These include:
- Accepting a call or making a call via swiping the phone briefly
- Using an earpiece, headpiece, or a device on the wrist in order to talk on the phone
- Using voice commands
- Using your phone as a GPS
- Using a hand-held cellphone while stopped at a light or stop sign
- Calling 911 via a held-held cellphone
Currently, police officers are allowed to issue warnings when they see someone breaking the rules. However, starting January 1, 2021, they will be allowed to give out tickets. Breaking this law also gives an officer grounds to pull you over, with no other reasonable suspicion required. The tickets for breaking the cellphone ban will range from $75 to $149. For a second offense, the tickets will range from $150 to $250.
The New Year
The hope is that this new ban will decrease distracted driving accidents in Arizona overall, and help protect other drivers, passengers, and pedestrians alike. However, even the best-laid plans can still have flaws. This ban is contingent on people following it, and there will always be those who break the rules. If you have found yourself the victim of a distracted driver, then you deserve compensation. In order to get that compensation, you will need the help of a skilled and experienced car accident attorney. That is where The Husband and Wife Law Team comes in. To get the support you deserve, call our firm, Breyer Law Offices, P.C., at (602) 267-1280 today.
Get Help Now
During a free consultation, we will look at the important aspects of your case, answer your questions, and explain your legal rights and options clearly. All submissions are confidentially reviewed by Mark Breyer.
Confidentially reviewed by Attorney Mark Breyer