Two People Die in Car Crash in North Phoenix
Two people were fatally injured Sunday, January 14, 2018, as they were exiting a private driveway at 35th Avenue and Bell Road. They were making a left turn when a car coming from the other direction smashed into their car. Police say the driver who hit them might have been impaired at the time, and that speed could have played a part. Both people inside the car that was hit died at the scene.
While results from the blood alcohol tests are still pending, it’s important to know that Arizona is a “zero-tolerance” state. That means that drivers can be arrested if police believe they are impaired, even if their blood alcohol level is less than .08%. This legal limit is equivalent to about two to three drinks.
There are four classifications of DUI in Arizona. They include:
- Standard DUI: This is a blood alcohol level of .08%, .04%if you are driving a commercial vehicle or .00% if you are under the age of 21 years.
- Extreme DUI: This is a blood alcohol level of .15% or higher. This can result in harsher consequences.
- Super Extreme DUI: This is a blood alcohol level of .20% or higher and involves much harsher consequences.
- Aggravated DUI: This occurs when the driver is drunk and driving on a suspended license, if this is the third or more DUI within seven years, if a minor is in the car, or if there is an interlock device installed in the car.
The penalties for driving while intoxicated in Arizona include jail time, monetary fines, and suspended driver’s licenses. The fines can range from $1,000 to tens of thousands of dollars. Drunk drivers can also be sentenced to days or months in prison.
If you have a drink, even just one, avoid getting into a car to drive. An officer can arrest you even if your car is off. If you’re sitting in it with your keys, the officer can assume you are about to drive and put others in danger. If you plan to sit in your car to wait for a designated driver, sit in the passenger seat or backseat instead. There are other options, including taxis, Uber, and calling a friend to pick you up. You can also use public transportation to get home.
If you are pulled over and refuse to take a breathalyzer, an officer can get a search warrant within an hour in order to give it to you. You can also face additional jail time if you refuse the test and are found to be intoxicated behind the wheel.
If you are injured by a drunk driver in Arizona, it’s important to get legal help immediately. An experienced attorney can help make sure the driver is held accountable for his actions. If you need help, you can call Breyer Law Offices, P.C., for guidance.