child injury car accident data az | Phoenix Personal Injury Law Blog
As experienced Arizona child safety seat injury attorneys, we are always pleased to see new laws go into effect that protect residents from unnecessary injuries in collisions. According to reports from My Fox Phoenix, a new state booster seat law went into effect on Thursday, August 2, 2012 and changed the requirements for use. The old law only required that children ages four and younger be placed in a booster seat. The new law, however, requires this system be used for all children under age seven that are also shorter than 4-feet, 9-inches tall. The purpose of special child safety restraint systems is to provide the child with extra support in the event of a crash, reducing the chances they will be seriously injured.
Child Injury Statistics in Arizona Car Crashes
Arizona car crashes are responsible for roughly 3,900 injuries to children age 14 and younger and for an additional 30 or more child fatalities every year, according to recent reports from the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT). More than 55 percent of those injuries happen to children ages nine and younger, and more than 45 percent of child fatalities in car crashes are reported in the same age group. Lack of safety device usage and unknown use are implicated in the deaths of nearly 10 children under the age of five years annually, according to data.
Get Help Now
During a free consultation, we will look at the important aspects of your case, answer your questions, and explain your legal rights and options clearly. All submissions are confidentially reviewed by Mark Breyer.
Confidentially reviewed by Attorney Mark Breyer